the modern distiller

Tim's 5 Plate Bubbler Build

For all the plate variations out there, bubblecap, valved, perforated etc.

Tim's 5 Plate Bubbler Build

Postby Tim » Sat Jun 01, 2013 9:08 pm

My first project was our boiler ...
I purchased a brand new Keg King 50l keg and a few bits and pieces to modify it into a boiler,
Ok had just enough time to modify the keg ring so that I can add the port later ... I have never done any of this kind of work before so be kind! Lol .. So I have only the basic tools for this job,
Angle grinder, fine bastard file, Stainless Steel cutting disk & a square. I have started with a new 50L keg, but you can do the same with any keg.
IMG_1972.jpg

I then measured 50mm from each handle to the front, and then 45mm down from the top and marked with a pencil, I then used the square to draw a line at 45 Deg as shown.
IMG_1973.jpg

With the Stainless Steel cutting disk I cut the rim first along the lines to approx 15mm from the keg top, then cut along the curve at 15 mm around the rim.
IMG_1974.jpg

After some clean up with the fine bastard file, and a little draw filing, this is what I finished up with!
IMG_1975.jpg

The port is just placed there to show what the cut was for!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tim

Re: Tom's 5 Plate Bubbler Build

Postby Tim » Sat Jun 01, 2013 9:16 pm

Keg Drain port ...
I had success with soft soldering my first stainless to stainless job using a standard Bunnings blue torch.
I know it's probably basic for all members but it wasn't for me! This elbow and keg base heats up very quickly XD So you have to heat slowly!
I started with a Stainless elbow, and cut about 5mm of to lower it below the level of the keg base ring ... I know I will have to cut a hole in the keg support ring, then raise the keg to a height, so that I can drain the keg after a run, but I wanted the keg to sit flush on the ground until I have made a base! :D
IMG_1976.jpg