the modern distiller

kit brew thingamebob

kit brew thingamebob

Postby Googe » Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:33 pm

Well, seems not.many people.kit brew :lol: . I've been doing it for about 7 years, mates do all grain and I've never been a big fan of it, plus I'm lazy :roll: . Anyway, recently I did a coppers lager, bottled it, then sat there looking at it and thought hmm wonder if I can treat that dunder as a second gen, I'm in distilling mode while thinking this :lol: . So chucked a coppers lager tin in, 500g raw sugar, 1 kg Ldm and warm.water then pitiched. Started at 1050, bit low, after a week it's on 1000 rufly, racked it. Tastes really nice so far, smooth. Will give it another week then bottle it.
Googe

Re: kit brew thingamebob

Postby Linny » Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:38 pm

whats these bottles you speak of .... should be kegging LOL
Linny

Postby Maheel » Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:06 pm

do you mean you re-used the yeast cake ?

i do that all the time with my beers no drama even when i have dry hopped the fermenter
for the purists it might mean you are over pitching your yeast. some say it's better just to get a cup full of the yeast cake and only use that
VM / Boka / ?
Shotgun Pot head
50L electric Kegs
and associated shed filling stuff......
Maheel

Postby 1 2many » Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:13 am

googe wrote:Well, seems not.many people.kit brew :lol: . I've been doing it for about 7 years, mates do all grain and I've never been a big fan of it, plus I'm lazy :roll: . Anyway, recently I did a coppers lager, bottled it, then sat there looking at it and thought hmm wonder if I can treat that dunder as a second gen, I'm in distilling mode while thinking this :lol: . So chucked a coppers lager tin in, 500g raw sugar, 1 kg Ldm and warm.water then pitiched. Started at 1050, bit low, after a week it's on 1000 rufly, racked it. Tastes really nice so far, smooth. Will give it another week then bottle it.