the modern distiller

Putting a bubble Ball on my reflux tower?

Bubble-Pot? Pot-Column? Bubble- Packed column? Don't know quite what it is?
Here is the place for the weird and the wonderful.

Putting a bubble Ball on my reflux tower?

Postby JRs Distilling » Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:26 am

Hello Folks,

I am very new to distilling and built a 2" reflux tower over a 9 gal. pot. It works pretty well, I have gotten a couple 86% runs with it. After finding this site and doing some reading, can some one tell me if there would be any advantage to adding a bubble ball above the boiler and below the packing of the tower? Does the bubble ball have any thing in it or is it empty?

I did a search and did not find the answer to this question. I am sorry if it was discussed before and if some one would direct me to that post that would be great too.

Thanks, JRs
Just a Southern Boy getting by and having some fun!
JRs Distilling

Re: Putting a bubble Ball on my reflux tower?

Postby DrWho » Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:21 am

:text-welcomewave: to MD.

A couple of threads down is the Stretched Bubble Ball thread. Has a bunch of good info in it. There are several others here on the Hybrid form.

???
DrWho

Postby FullySilenced » Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:23 am

I would read the hybrid stuff ... seems more what your looking for...
FullySilenced

Postby Kapea » Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:39 am

You're gonna convince me to buy a torpedo for my column yet.

Has anyone tried putting the torpedo top half on the bottom half too, kinda like a window into the boiler? One window on top to look at the bubble plate, another window underneath to look at the boiler. How much of a view into the boiler do you suppose a 2" sightglass on the bottom might allow?