the modern distiller

Ellie

Say Hi...and let us know a bit about your world.

Ellie

Postby tuner » Tue Jan 03, 2017 4:12 pm

Newbie Here,

Only have a few runs under the belt and well not doing good on the cuts. Have to try harder!
:confusion-confused:
Keep getting a "Chemical Smell and Taste" from BWTP wash. Can get 95% ABV at the parrot for most of the run. But allot has gone down the drain, not getting a tasty product that I would drink! Using the Birdwatchers Sugar Wash as per the recipe with E-1118 yeast
The RUM was a bust as the Stripper Run - smelt burnt circuit boards, I didn't think that I had burnt the run as I was only about 3500 Watts on 30 liters. Will do a spirit run, but I'm not hopeful.

Cheers
Tuner
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
tuner

Re: Ellie

Postby JayD » Tue Jan 03, 2017 5:28 pm

Welcome to the forum, :obscene-drinkingcheers: nice still you have there.
JayD

Postby FullySilenced » Wed Jan 04, 2017 2:27 am

Hella nice... :-o :text-welcomewave:

Happy Stillin,

FS
FullySilenced

Postby Swedish Pride » Wed Jan 04, 2017 7:45 pm

welcome in lad.
Lovely still, Did you make it or where did you get it from?

To me it looks like one or two of the modules are upside down or the sight glasses may just be on different levels?

I too had issues initially, I was reading how everyone made better than store bought first time the ran a still, but I was left far from impressed by my stuff.
I think I have decided that it's my (our) standards that are higher, everyone else are used to drinking crap :lol:

these days I still can't say I make better that store bought whiskey, I can make it smother easily enough, but not as complex, I assume I'll have to wait for time to have it's way with the oak and whiskey for that to happen.
Also I find AG much MUCH nicer that sugarheads.

so , sorry no help, just a different view on it.

btw, I still drank it all even if it was not great as I'm a cheapskate and a drunk :lol: